The Luohan system of qigong

Author: Garcia MD
Paseo de Colombia 172 A, Elviria, Marbella, 29600 Malaga, Spain [1]
Conference/Journal: 2nd World Conf Acad Exch Med Qigong
Date published: 1993
Other: Pages: 147 , Word Count: 289

The Luohan System of Qigong described in this paper is a Buddhist-Medical school of qigong from the Shaolin Temple that has passed down from generation to generation inside the Chen's Family of Guangdong and is part of a larger system known as Choy Lee Fut— widely known for its Martial Arts exploits. It is comprised of four parts or sets of exercises. Although the four forms of the system use relaxation, and the control of the breath and the mind to direct the flow of qi through the meridians, each one of them has very specific characteristics

l. The 18 Luohan Hands:-Sub Bak Luohan Sau
These are very vigorous exercises that strengthen the bones, muscles and tendons, drain the channels and improve the circulation of blood and qi. Bodhidharma or Ta Mo is the creator of these movements that have survived the test of time.

2. Little Luohan-Siu Luohan
This set of movements are more rounded and softer than the first one and emphasize the use of breath to generate qi. It incorporates stationary postures at different points of the form. Out of stillness movement is born, and out of the flowing movements stillness is cultivated.

3. Great Luohan-Tai Luohan
This form is executed sitting cross legged with arms in different “mudras' or postures. The mind coupled with the breath is used to focus qi at vital points of the body.

4. Without Ultimate-Wu Chi
The fourth and final form is a combination of the previous three. Stillness of mind is blended with movement of the body, the fast flows into the slow. It is a reflection of the cosmic dance of creation where ying and yang — the universal opposites - interact to form the myriad phenomena and entities of the universe.